Review Of Dandies Vegan Marshmallows By Chicago Vegan Foods

I beg you to stop reading this review if you don’t want to learn what marshmallows are made out of and why a strict vegan, such as myself, won’t eat them.

Last chance…

vegan marshmallows

Okay.

Marshmallows are made from the leftover skin, bones, muscles, and tendons of slaughtered animals. The particular ingredient is typically labeled as “gelatin.”

That explains why when you take leftover Thanksgiving turkey out of refrigerator the next day, there’s that Jello-like broth surrounding it.

As explained in this reputable article on the website Organic Authority explains, the leftover collagen, the soft protein that connects skin, bones, muscles, and tendons of slaughtered animals are used to make gelatin.

From there, the gelatin is used for not only for marshmallows and Jello, but pudding as well.

If you are a strict, kosher-keeping Jew, Muslim, or 7th Day Adventist, you can’t in good conscience consume marshmallows, because unless the label specifically says that the gelatin is from a kosher fish or cow, then it must be assumed that the gelatin is derived from pigs.

Therefore, there is a target demographic for Dandies vegan marshmallows by Chicago Vegan Foods. And I am obviously part of that demographic…

Review Of Dandies Vegan Marshmallows By Chicago Vegan Foods

I honestly couldn’t tell the difference at all in taste or texture. And… they’re kosher, vegan, and non-GMO, as seen on their label.

You can use these for anything you’d normally do with marshmallows, like roast them over a campfire.

Review Of Dandies Vegan Marshmallows By Chicago Vegan Foods

I think it’s awesome that there’s a brand out there that is clever enough to make kosher and vegan marshmallows for all interested parties.

And in case I needed to say it, my son loves them too!

So, maybe you learned something new today. Just don’t ask me where “artificial vanilla” flavoring comes from…

Whatever you do, don’t Google it…

(Secret: Doing so will probably lead you right back here to my blog.)

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Review Of Dandies Vegan Marshmallows By Chicago Vegan Foods

  1. Glad to hear these fit the bill! I just bought them in hopes of substituting them for regular marshmallows in baking and was hoping you wouldn’t be able to tell the difference.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.